Skip to content
ENQUIRIES (03) 5229 0004

Iona College is a school which operates with the consent of the Catholic Archbishop of Melbourne and is operated and governed by Melbourne Archdiocese Catholic Schools Ltd (MACS).

MACS governs and operates Catholic schools in the Archdiocese to continue the mission of Catholic education to proclaim the Good News and equip our young people with the knowledge, skills and hope to live meaningful lives and enrich the world around them.

Because the good work of educating the young is a co-responsible task led by every member of the Catholic school community, School Advisory Councils have been established to provide a crucial point of connection between the wider school community and school leaders.

This governance model was designed to ease the administrative burden on our schools and parishes, allow parish priests to focus on the mission of education in the parish, enable greater collaboration between schools and ensure greater consistency in school policies and procedures.

Democratic Principles Statement

Philosophy Statement

Elected members of the Iona College Advisory Council for 2023 are:

Ex- Officio Members:

Principal: Mr. Damian McKew

Canonical Administrators: Fr Linh Tran and Fr James Clarke

Staff Members: Ms. Kylie Power

Elected Members:

Ms. Sarah Morgante

Ms. Mari Portaro

Mr. Paul Tobias

Mr. Stephen Elder

Ms. Lucy Carroll

Ms. Brooke Hyland

Ms. Jacinta Sadler

Ms. Jo Hart

Council Chair: Dr Melissa O’Shea

Secretary: Mrs. Julie Cole

More information on MACS is available at

Back To Top